So I joined this food co-op today, you register every Tuesday and choose what you want and pay for it, then pick it up on Saturday. There was an option to get some plums and I thought that I wanted a few plums……and it turns out that I am getting 10lbs of plums, about 11 different varieties, plus some more fruit and veggies….it is going to be a week of eating and baking with plums! If you have any plum recipes please send them my way I will be in need of them. Below is the recipe that I followed for the most part, I roasted my strawberries with a little EVOO, Sugar, wine (whatever red was on hand and already open) and a little salt @ 350F until I thought they were done, they smelled YUMMY I wanted to eat them out of the oven but they were needed for the bread.

Roasted Strawberry Banana Bread
Skinnytaste.com

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 cups strawberries, diced
  • 3 ripe medium bananas, mashed
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (not packed)
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • baking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly spray a loaf pan with baking spray. Mix strawberries, sugar, EVOO,pinch of salt and splash of wine in a bowl. Place the strawberry mixture on a baking sheet and roast for about 25 minutes, remove and set aside.

DSC_0259

In a large bowl cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer. Add egg whites, bananas, apple sauce and vanilla, and beat at medium speed until thick. Scrape down sides of the bowl. Add Flour, salt and baking soda mix until just combined.

Fold in strawberries and pour batter into the prepared loaf pan; bake in the center rack for about 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

DSC_0266

Let the pan cool to room temperature before slicing.

DSC_0273

***************************************

I keep getting asked my co-workers, or past coworkers that I see around town if I have updated the food blog because when I showed it to them upon arriving in Williston, ND they enjoyed it, and honestly I enjoyed writing it all the time so third time is a charm I hope. The Julia cookbook did not interest me in the least, there are maybe 3 things in the book I want to make but they sound like winter dishes, so something I will add in the winter (though I will go look see if it has a plum dish so I can get some of those 10lbs out the door). Also with this co-op I have started taking part of I will be encouraged to bake and cook with all of the fresh fruit and veggies before they spoil. This will also put my camera to more use than just photographing the weather and my fur baby.

