Tags

, , ,


Well, I have had this recipe open in my browser for about two weeks, and I stumbled upon it before and wanted to make it then but for some reason never. Anyway….I finally decided I am making this: Pollo in Potacchio yesterday. I ended up going out to supper but today I had mine for lunch and I might have the exact same dish for supper it was so good.

Pollo in Potacchio

  • 6 skinless chicken thighs (with bone)
  • kosher salt and fresh black pepper
  • 3 – 4 small sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 tsp pinch red pepper flakes
  • 2 cups Imported crushed tomatoes
  • 1/4 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (Pinot Grigio)
  • 2 cups low sodium, fat free chicken broth
  • kosher salt and fresh black pepper

Directions

1. Lightly season the chicken with salt and fresh pepper on all sides. Place a Dutch Oven or large heavy pot on medium-high heat (I used my Staub I LOVE that pot). Add 1 tbsp oil, when hot add the chicken and sear until browned on all sides, about 6-7 minutes on each side. Transfer chicken to a dish and set aside.

2. Sauté garlic and onions (and red pepper flakes if using) in remaining oil; sauté until golden, about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add celery and carrots and saute on medium-low for about 2-3 minutes, until soft. Add the wine and chicken broth, scraping any caramelized bits from the bottom.

3. Add tomatoes, marjoram, reduce heat to low, season to taste and simmer for 30 minutes.

4. Add the chicken and rosemary to the sauce, partially cover and cook slowly on low heat for another 25 – 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, adding water if needed.

** These are the instructions from Skinny Taste slightly modified to what I did when I made it and she also has slow cooker directions on her website linked from the first mention of the dish**

I used Couscous as my side, I am newly obsessed with Couscous! Every time I would go to the farmers market at home I would have jerk chicken (or some other chicken) a samosa and some couscous or this other noodleish dish that the lady who I regularly purchased my Saturday lunches from. So for my Pollo in Potacchio I had curried couscous on the side. It was oh so good!  I googled how to make it and then tweaked the recipe to my liking. Here is the recipe that I ended up with 🙂

Curried Couscous

  • 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp hot curry powder
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 1/2 cups couscous
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup raisins (I left out because we don’t have but I do like them in couscous)

Directions

1. Pour couscous into a bowl set aside.

2. Mix chicken stock, curry powder, salt, pepper, olive oil, and raisins in a saucepan and bring to a boil; remove from heat. Pour the boiling liquid over the couscous. Seal the bowl with plastic wrap and allow to sit for 10 minutes. Fluff couscous with a fork. Top with almonds and raisins.

One of my good friends sister sent me a recipe for samosas that I will make soon as well so Be excited for yummy samosas if they turn out to be great I will post that recipe here as well 🙂

Do you have any good recipes to share? Something else to do with the couscous as this is my first cooking couscous experience.. help! 🙂

