Last year for my friends birthday I told her I would make her a rainbow star cake…. and well that did not happen (felt so bad) I had alot on my plate with school but that is life I suppose. So this year I made the best cake ever! A rainbow brownie bottom cheesecake! This was my first time experimenting with colors and baking and now I am hooked! I loved this cake and was so excited when I took off the spring form sides I sent everyone on my blackberry pictures of it lol  So without further ado here is the amazing cake!

Ingredients:

  • 4 (1 ounce) squares BAKER’S Unsweetened Baking Chocolate
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar, divided
  • 5 eggs, divided
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla, divided
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup BREAKSTONE’S or KNUDSEN Sour Cream

Directions

1.     Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Melt butter on the stove with chocolate. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Add 1-1/2 cups of the sugar; mix well.

2.    Add 2 of the eggs, one at a time, mixing on low speed after each addition just until blended. Add milk and 1 tsp. of the vanilla; mix well. Combine flour and salt. Gradually add to chocolate mixture, mixing after each addition just until blended. Spread evenly into greased and floured and parchment papered 9-inch springform pan. Bake 25 min.

3.    Beat cream cheese, remaining 3/4 cup sugar and remaining 1 tsp. vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer  on       medium speed until well blended. Add sour cream; mix well. Add remaining 3 eggs, one at a time, mixing on low speed after each addition just until blended. (Now for the Rainbow Part) Divide into 5 or 6 dishes and create the colors of your choice. Then one by one or all at once add them to the pan. I did one by one but you can make blobs of color or something fun like that.(Filling will come almost to top of pan.)

Pink in the making

Two if the 6 colors 🙂

Layer #4 😀

Just before the oven!

I dont know why  I cannot rotate this image but here is just a small fraction of the mess left


4.   Bake 55 min. to 1 hour or until center is almost set. Run knife or metal spatula around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim of pan. Refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Let stand at room temperature 30 min. before serving. Store leftover cheesecake in refrigerator.

The Birthday Girl with her cake after the candles came out.

This is how awesome it looked when it was cut! (excuse the alcohol bottle)

P.S. Sorry for the long time since my last post ( like a month D: ) I’ve had a lot going on and no time to bake really, moving things and life just being busy and losing my camera cable, I promise to be more diligent with my blogging as I am 99.9% sure I will be starting to sell my baked goods 🙂  {I’ll post the fb group when I get it set up 😀 }

