So for mothers day I made my mother a wonderful cake, so I figured it was only fair to do the same for my dad 🙂 I have been wanting to make a banana cream pie for months now and this was the perfect occasion to make one 🙂 I searched around the web and decided to combine a few recipes…and I also found another one or two that I want to make but I didn’t have the time to make today.

Peanut Butter Banana Cream Pie

Ingredients:

Vanilla Wafer Crust

* 6 ounces vanilla wafer cookies (If you don’t have a scale, use about 4 cups of crumbled cookies to get the required 1 3/4 cup vanilla wafer crumbs.)

* 2 tablespoons sugar

* Pinch of salt

* 6 tablespoons unsalted (3/4 stick) butter, cut into small pieces

Peanut Butter Cream

* 3 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

* 1/2 cup powdered sugar

* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

* 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

* 2/3 cup chilled heavy whipping cream

I used 4 bananas but next time I will leave more spaces inbetween the banana slices so the cream can get in between.

Directions:

Vanilla Wafer Crust

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Combine the ingredients in a food processor. Blend about 1 minute until you get fine, moist crumbs.

3. Transfer the crumb mixture to a 9-inch pie pan. Press the crumbs onto the bottom and up the sides. (I didn’t have a pie plate but I did have a spring form pan sooo that’s what I used, I guess that will me my next addition to the kitchen 🙂 )

4. Bake for about 12 minutes. Let it cool completely on a wire rack before filling.

Peanut Butter Filling

1. Using a standing mixer with a paddle attachment, beat cream cheese and powdered sugar until smooth. Beat in vanilla and peanut butter.

2. In a second bowl, whip cream until firm peaks form.

3. Fold a large spoonful of whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture to loosen, then fold in the remaining cream in two additions.

4. Spread peanut butter layer over bananas. Chill at least 3 hours.

Verdict: The vanilla wafers are not my favorite crust, next time I might try peanut butter cookies, and I need a pie plate for sure, the peanut butter cream was delish! so I give this recipe a 4/5 change the crust and it get’s a 5/5 🙂

