Well I was poking around tastespotting as I do on occasion and found this recipe for Black Cocoa Brownie Wedges. If you know me you know that I love dark chocolate and once I read this recipe I had to make them.

Black Cocoa Brownies
Adapted from Brownie Points, by Lisa Slater

Ingredients:

3 sticks unsalted butter (this amount of butter was off putting, but I am giving most of them away so meh)
1/2 cup best quality cocoa powder
3 tablespoons black cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups white sugar
4 eggs, room temperature
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder
or
1 tablespoon very strong coffee (I used Espresso)
2/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Butter a 9 inch round cake pan, fit with a circle of parchment, and butter the parchment.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat until it bubbles and browns. It will froth and then settle down, with the milk solids settling to the bottom I never know if it is browned I just kinda hope for the best.

Remove from the heat, cool slightly and add the cocoa powders then stir until smooth.

Next, add the sugar, stir until smooth, then cool for about 10 minutes.

Then, add the eggs, stiring until smooth and shiny until just combined.

Stir in the vanilla and espresso then stir in the flour and salt, mixing until just combined.

Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with a few moist crumbs stuck to it, check it after 30 minutes.

Allow to cool completely on cooling rack, then refrigerate. Remove from the pan and onto a cutting board, slice into wedges or whatever shape you’d like really.

