Well, today I had the urge to make Granola Bars. This feeling came from the GEI meeting that I talked about in my last post there was so many baked goods we got to take some home with us, I took a home made granola bar with me to have for breakfast the next day. It was great! Ever since then I wanted to make my own, so today after work I drove to the bulk barn and picked out my fruit and nuts and a small amount of mini chocolate chips.

Home Made Granola Bars

2 cups Rolled Oats (not the instant kind, but quick cook Quaker is fine)
1/3 – 1/2 cup Brown Rice Syrup (or a good quality maple syrup, or honey)
1/4 cup Safflower or Canola oil
1 cup of mixed Goodies*** see choice examples below***
(optional dash of salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamon, or vanilla

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until just moist.

Press hard and compactly into an 8×8 inch baking pan (using plastic over your hand makes this easier). I dont think I pushed down hard enough…..because mine didnt stay in bar form more like a snack mix…. but I will try again ๐Ÿ™‚


Bake at 350F for 20 minutes. Let cool completely. Cut into bars or squares as preferred and package as needed (any crumbs and clumps can be sprinkled over yogurt, mmmm.)

**GOODIES**: (recommended to choose 3-4 items to make up a cup of Goodies)


Chopped Nuts (Pecans, Walnuts, Cashews, Almonds, Hazelnuts, etc.)
Chopped or small Dried Fruits (raisins, cranberries, cherries, apricots, figs, etc.) Coconut shredded Seeds (Pumpkin, sunflower, Pepita, flax, sesame, etc.) also: a sprinkle of cocoa nibs, crushed caramel brittle, or freeze dried fruit nibs

In my granola bars, I forgot the salt and cinnamon I wanted to put in …. but they are still yummy. I put coconut, almonds, cranberries and mini chocolate chips some of my favorite things ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope they inspire you to go pick up your favorite goodies and make your own granola bars ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S. I have another recipe that I will try, I dont really like the honey it’s way too sweet

