While I was on tastespotting.com the other day I saw this recipe for Peppermint Fudge and thought to myself this would be great. I did modify the recipe slightly but it is still delicious.

Ingredients:

14oz of sweetened condensed milk
1 Tbsp butter
20oz of dark chocolate
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp peppermint extract
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 package of Andes mints (I froze mine then chopped them up)
 
  1. Grease a 9×13 baking dish. Sprinkle half the peppermint chunks in the bottom of the dish and set aside.
  2. Create a double boiler by placing glass or metal bowl over a medium sauce pot over medium heat with 2 inches of water. Make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water.
  3. Pour the condensed milk and butter in the bowl and heat.
  4. Add the chocolate chips and salt in the bowl. Stir the chocolate and watch as it melts.
  5. The mixture should be very THICK almost too thick to pour.
  6. Add both extracts and mix well.
  7. Pour the mixture into the dish. Tap the dish on the counter for at least a minute to get all the air bubbles out.
  8. Sprinkle the remaining peppermint chips over the top and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, maybe longer, to set.
  9. To cut, dip a sharp knife in hot tap water, and wipe. Dip and wipe the knife between cuts.

These were so so good I put two in the cookie tins that I sent away to my exchange friends :)

